Chinese-American Chemistry & Chemical Biology Professors Association (CAPA)

Congratulations to 2021 CAPA Award Winners

2021 CAPA Distinguished Faculty Award (US)

Wang, Qiu – Associate Professor, Duke University

2021 CAPA Distinguished Faculty Award (China)

He, Le –  Professor, Soochow University

2021 CAPA Distinguished Junior Faculty Award (US)

Chen, Ou – Assistant Professor, Brown University

Zhang, Sen – Assistant Professor, University of Virginia

2021 OKeanos-CAPA Senior Investigator Award at the Chemical and Biology Interface (US or China)

Wu, Peng – Associate Professor, Scripps Research Institute

2021 OKeanos-CAPA Young Investigator Award at the Chemical and Biology Interface (US or China)

Liu, Yu – PI, Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Our whole-hearted congratulations to the awardees!

Let's also thank the members of the 2021 CAPA Award Selection Committee: Xi Chen (Chair), Jiaoyang Jiang, Wenshe Liu, Wenfang Sun, Binghe Wang, Qian Wang

CAPA History

The Chinese-American Chemistry & Chemical Biology Professors Association is a non-profit and apolitical organization. CAPA was founded in 2002 by co-founders Zhen Huang, Lin Pu and Binghe Wang. It was officially registered in Georgia, USA on January 14, 2008.

Current Officials (07/01/2020 - 06/30/2022):

Jianmin Gao (President, Boston College)

Xiaodong Shi (Vice president, Univ. South Florida)

Wenshe Liu (Secretary/Communication Director, Texas A&M Univ) 

Jianfeng Cai (Treasurer, University of South Florida)

 

Past Officials

07/01/2018 - 06/30/2020:

Xiangming Guan (President, South Dakota State University)

Jianmin Gao (Vice President, Boston College)

Jianfeng Cai (Treasurer, University of South Florida)

Wenfang Sun (Communication Director, North Dakota State University) 

07/01/2016 - 06/30/2018:

Xi Chen (President, University of California, Davis)

Yinsheng Wang (Vice President, University of California, Riverside)

Xiangming Guan (Treasurer, South Dakota State University)

Jianmin Gao (Communication Director, Boston College)

07/01/2014 - 06/30/2016:

Zucai Suo (President, Ohio State University)

Yinsheng Wang (Vice President, University of California, Riverside)

Xiangming Guan (Treasurer, South Dakota State University)

Zhihao Zhuang (Communication Director, University of Delaware) 

07/01/2012 - 06/30/2014: 

Zucai Suo (President, Ohio State University)

Shaowei Chen (Vice President, University of California, Santa Cruz)

Xiangming Guan (Treasurer, South Dakota State University)

Xi Chen (Communication Director, University of California, Davis)

Xiaodong (Michael) Shi (Fund Raising Director, West Virginia University)

CAPA Awards Committee:
Lin Pu (Chair, University of Virginia)
Chuan He (University of Chicago)
Ming Xian (Washington State University)
Yadong Ying (University of California, Riverside)
Xiaoqi Yu (Sichuan University)
Xiang Zhou (Wuhan University) 

CAPA Board Members

Chengzhi Cai (University of Houston, cai@uh.edu)

Shaowei Chen (University of California, Santa Cruz, schen@chemistry.ucsc.edu)

Xi Chen (University of California, Davis, chen@chem.ucdavis.edu)

Li Deng (Brandeis University, deng@brandeis.edu)

Bing Gong (SUNY at Buffalo, bgong@chem.buffalo.edu)

Xiangming Guan (South Dakota State University, Xiangming.Guan@sdstate.edu)

Hua Guo (University of New Mexico, hguo@unm.edu)

Zhongwu Guo (University of Florida, zguo@chem.ufl.edu)

Chuan He (University of Chicago, chuanhe@uchicago.edu)

Xuefei Huang (Michigan State University, xuefei@chemistry.msu.edu)

Zhen Huang (Georgia State University, huang@gsu.edu)

Jing Li (Rutgers Univeristy, jingli@rci.rutgers.edu)

Wenbin Lin (University of North Carolina, wlin@unc.edu)

Rihe Liu (University of North Carolina, rliu@email.unc.edu)

Lin Pu (University of Virginia, lp6n@virginia.edu)

Yigong Shi (Tsinghua University, shi-lab@tsinghua.edu.cn)

Wenfang Sun (North Dakota State University, Wenfang.sun@ndsu.edu)

Zucai Suo (Ohio State University, Suo.3@osu.edu)

Weihong Tan (University of Florida, tan@chem.ufl.edu)

Binghe Wang (Georgia State University, wang@gsu.edu)

Lai-Xi Wang (University of Maryland, wang518@umd.edu)

Peng George Wang (Georgia State University, pwang11@gsu.edu)

Qian Wang (University of South Carolina, wang@mail.chem.sc.edu)

Wei Wang (University of New Mexico, wwang@unm.edu)

Zhonglin Wang (Georgia Institute of Technology, zhong.wang@mse.gatech.edu)

Mingdi Yan (University of Massachusetts Lowell, Mingdi_Yan@uml.edu)

Lihe Zhang (Peking University, zdszlh@bjmu.edu.cn)

Xumu Zhang (Southern University of Science and Techcnology,  zhangxm@sustc.edu.cn)

Zhaohui (Sunny) Zhou (Northeastern University, z.zhou@neu.edu)

Zhihao Zhuang (University of Delaware, zzhuang@udel.edu)

CAPA Advisory Board Members

Yuen-Ron Shen (University of California, Berkeley)
Jack Szostak (Nobel Prize Laureate in Medicine 2009, Harvard Medical School)
Richard Zare (Stanford University)
Wei Yang
(National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases)

CAPA Bylaws

Join CAPA

Membership Application and Renewal Form

Please mail the completed form and a check payable to CAPA to

Xiangming Guan, Ph.D.
Box 2202 C, College of Pharmacy
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007